About Me

Hello!

My name’s Kaylee and I am a wanderer, writer, thinker, and dreamer currently living in Hong Kong. I chose to begin my career abroad because as an International Affairs major in college, all I wanted to do after graduating was start traveling right away. My journey began when I headed off to Shenzhen, China to practice my Mandarin and teach English for a year. I stumbled upon Hong Kong somewhat by accident, as in by taking a few day trips across the border and realizing what an intense, international, and intriguing place it was, so I’ve decided to stay for a bit. My goals for the next few years are to travel East and Southeast Asia, blog lots of great content about Hong Kong/China and the world at large, and make a positive impact on the people around me in any way I can.

The title of my blog, “There Are No Foreign Lands,” represents the mindset I strive to maintain when I travel. It’s easy to go into a new place seeing everything as strange and different—but if you try to immerse yourself and just go with it as much as possible, the trip becomes an internal as well as external journey. Struggling to blend into unfamiliar circumstances, learning about local ideas, languages, and customs, and discovering new places through aimless wandering are the joys which make travel meaningful for me.

Thank you for taking the time to read my work, and I hope you enjoy it!

“There are no foreign lands; it is the traveler only who is foreign.”

Follow me on Instagram! @noforeignlands_

Leave a Reply

